Burgelman Receives Silver Apple

Professor Robert Burgelman is the 2004 recipient of the Jaedicke Silver Apple Award presented by the Stanford GSB Alumni Association.

October 01, 2004

He has shared ideas with alumni groups around the world, conducted seminars for the Lifelong Learning program, and spoken at Alumni Weekend events. Robert Burgelman, the Edmund W. Littlefield Professor of Management, is the 2004 recipient of the Jaedicke Silver Apple Award presented by the Stanford GSB Alumni Association.

“Paris, Denmark, Florence, India-you do have good taste in events to attend,” joked last year’s recipient, Rod Kramer, in presenting the award during Alumni Weekend activities in October. “Robert is a world-class teacher of the first rank. He has an energy, intensity, and focus that both intimidates and inspires. Like all good leaders in the classroom, he draws out the very best in his students, whether MBAs or executives. He pushes his students hard, but he does so with his terrific sense of humor, wonderful laugh, and trademark smile, which traverses the full width of his face.”

Burgelman is director of the Stanford Executive Program. An academic leader in the field of strategy, he is the author of several books, the most recent being Strategy Is Destiny (Free Press, 2002).

The Silver Apple Award, named for Dean Emeritus Robert K. Jaedicke, was created to recognize faculty members with significant involvement in alumni programs.

For media inquiries, visit the Newsroom.

Explore More

June 16, 2022
Dual ceremonies celebrate Classes of 2020 and 2022.
A group of four students in their cap and gowns smiling at the camera on graduation day. Best Grad Photo Inc.

June 09, 2022
Authenticity, equity, and freedom. Representation and belonging. Inclusivity, empathy, and safety.
Collage of colorful portraits of students of the GSB pride club, smiling, laughing, and looking serious. Photos by Elena Zhukova

June 02, 2022
This Stanford Executive Program course used virtual reality to help business leaders embrace an “improviser’s mindset.”
Women who are lit in bright red and blue in a dark room wearing VR glasses. Credit: iStock/tolgart