Ernest C. Arbuckle Award

Stanford GSB honored Mark Wolfson, founder, and managing partner of Jasper Ridge Partners and Adjunct Professor at Stanford Graduate School of Business, with the 2022 Ernest C. Arbuckle Award. A program to honor Dr. Wolfson was held at Stanford University on May 24, 2022.

2022 Arbuckle Award Honoree

Mark Wolfson
Founder and Managing Partner, Jasper Ridge Partners
Adjunct Professor, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Mark Wolfson is a founder and managing partner of Jasper Ridge Partners, a wealth management and private investment firm, as well as president of Jasper Ridge Charitable Fund. From 1995 to 2013, he was affiliated with the Robert M. Bass/Oak Hill organizations. During his tenure with these organizations, he played key roles in the formation of Jasper Ridge Strategic Partners, Jasper Ridge Diversified, and Oak Hill Capital Partners.

Mark began his academic career at Stanford Graduate School of Business, where he has served as both a chaired professor and an associate dean. Forty-five years later, he still teaches courses on investment management and philanthropic strategy as an adjunct professor. He also has taught at Harvard Business School and the University of Chicago, and has been a visiting scholar at both the MIT Sloan School of Management and the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.

Mark served as an advisor to the Investment Committee of the Hewlett Foundation for more than a dozen years and has served on numerous public and private company boards. He is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research and serves on the Executive Committee of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and on the Advisory Board for the Knight-Hennessy Scholars Program at Stanford. He is currently president of Arrow Impact, a charitable foundation focused on both creating pathways to economic prosperity for communities that have been under-resourced and improving the efficiency of the philanthropic ecosystem. Mark earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Illinois and a PhD from the University of Texas at Austin.

About the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award

Sponsored annually by Stanford Graduate School of Business, the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award recognizes excellence in the field of management leadership.

The award was created in 1968 in honor of the late Stanford GSB dean whose name it bears. Recipients demonstrate a commitment to both managerial excellence and to addressing the changing needs of society.

Our History

Arbuckle Award Recipients

Stories From Past Celebrations

School Story
School Story
School Story