41st Annual ENCORE Award

Stanford GSB named Workday as the recipient of the 41st Annual ENCORE Award. Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer Aneel Bhusri, MBA ’93, received the award on behalf.

Aneel Bhusri, MBA '93 and Dave Duffield, Workday: 41st Entrepreneurial Company of the Year
Aneel Bhusri, MBA ’93, and Dave Duffield from Workday at the 41st Entrepreneurial Company of the Year Award event.

Chosen as the 41st annual ENCORE recipient, Workday, makes enterprise software that runs critical operations for half of the Fortune 50 and more than 35% of the Fortune 500. The company prides itself on having a relentless commitment to customer success, outspending competitors on R&D, and creating a forward-looking culture.

Workday was chosen not only for its stunning financial performance and leadership position in enterprise cloud applications for finance and human resources, but also for its story as a founder-led, start-up-to-success story emblematic of the spirit of the ENCORE award.

About ENCORE Award

The Entrepreneurial Company of the Year Award was created in the late 1970s by the Bay Area Chapter of the GSB Alumni Association when they saw an opportunity to recognize the entrepreneurial spirit of the companies springing up in the Silicon Valley. The first honor was given to the CEO of ROLM Corporation in 1977.

Although the award was originally designed to honor an individual, it soon became clear that a company’s success was based on the contributions of many people. Accordingly, the award was changed to the Entrepreneurial Company of the Year in 1982. Additionally, the scope of the award has been widened to recognize best in class entrepreneurs from throughout the world and is no longer limited to Silicon Valley.

ENCORE Award Recipients

2010 – 2019
2019 Workday
2017-18 Facebook
2016 Golden State Warriors
2015 Alibaba Group
2014 Netflix
2013 Tesla
2012 LinkedIn
2011 Twitter
2010 Amazon
2000 – 2009
2008 Gilead Sciences
2007 SunPower Corporation
2006 Network Appliance, Inc.
2005 Apple
2004 Google Inc.
2003 NVIDIA Corporation
2002 VERITAS Software Corporation
2001 Siebel Systems, Inc.
2000 eBay, Inc.
1990 – 1999
1999 Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.
1998 Yahoo!
1997 Ascend Communications
1996 Netscape Communications
1995 Intuit, Inc.
1994 Cisco Systems, Inc.
1993 Electronic Arts
1992 Borland International, Inc.
1991 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
1990 Octel Communications Corp.
1980 – 1989
1989 Acuson Corporation
1988 Cypress Semiconductor
1987 Sun Microsystems
1986 LSI Logic
1985 Quantum Corporation
1984 Seagate Technology
1983 Genentech, Inc.
1982 Dysan Corporation, Inc.
1981 Apple Computer, Inc.
1980 Tandem Computers, Inc.
1970 – 1979
1979 Qume Corporation
1978 California Microwave, Inc.
1977 ROLM Corporation
ENCORE Award Selection Committee

We thank the selection committee for their participation in the award process.


Geoff Yang, MBA ’85, Redpoint Ventures


Peter Fenton, AB ’94, MBA ’00, Benchmark

J. Stuart Francis, MBA ’77, Evercore

Charles A. Holloway, Stanford GSB Faculty, Emeritus

Jeffrey Dalton Jordan, MBA 87, Andreessen Horowitz

Mary Meeker, Kleiner Perkins

Joe Lacob, MBA ’83, Golden State Warriors

Frank Quattrone, MBA ’81, Qatalyst Partners

David L. Sze, MBA ’93, Greylock Partners

Peter Wendell, Sierra Ventures