Tapestry Award

The GSB Black Business Student Association (BBSA) hosted the Annual Stanford Black Business Gala and Conference on May 6-7, 2022. The 2022 Tapestry Award was presented to Marla Blow, MBA ’99. This year, 2022, marks the 40th year since the first Tapestry Award was inaugurated in 2008 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the first Black Business Student Gathering in 1983.

About the Tapestry Award

The Tapestry Award honors a Black Stanford GSB alumnus or alumna who has woven inspirational leadership, intellectual excellence, and service to others through his or her professional and personal life.

Tapestries, as well as the art of weaving, are sources of tradition and pride in the Black community. Like a finely textured fabric, this individual has, through their contribution and actions, reminded us of the strength, beauty, and integrity of our ancestry and the importance of maintaining these qualities in our lives. The selection committee considers the following factors in selecting an award recipient:

  • Leadership
  • Excellence
  • Service
  • Overall life balance
  • Impact

Nominations were solicited from the Black alumni community.

Tapestry Award Recipients

Featured Story
Black History Matters
Members of the Black Business Student Association answer the question: “What does Black History Month mean to you?”